Skip to main content
site header image

BHS_Social Issues: Locate and Access Info. - Databases

What Is a Database?

DATABASES are collections of digital resources centered around a broad subject, such as science or health or history. DATABASES are put together by educated individuals (editorial boards) who gather resources from credible sources. 

DATABASES are provided to assist you when completing research and can be accessed at www.anoka.k12.mn.us/eresources

How to search DATABASES:

1. Click on the DATABASE that you would like to explore. When using DATABASES from home, you will be asked for a username and password.   Passwords are found on the green EResources card available at the LMC desk.

2. Type in your search term. Try several search terms if the one you use doesn't yield good results.

3. Note that DATABASES include various types of PRIMARY and SECONDARY resources including: academic journals, newspapers, photographs, radio transcripts, video clips, reference books, etc. 

4. Read the title and description of the displayed resources. When you find a resource that you think might be useful to you, click on the title to get the full text. 

Besides containing credible resources, DATABASES also offer the advantage of providing you with a source citation for the resource. These can generally be found at the end of the article or by clicking a "source citation" button. Be sure to copy and paste all of your source citations into a works cited page as you go.

Note also that many DATABASES have a "listen" button that you can click on to have the resource read aloud to you. (Please check out headphones at the desk if you choose this option while using the databases in the LMC.)

There is also generally an e-mail button that allows you to e-mail a resource home to yourself if you think you might not be able to finish reading it during class time and want to have access to it at a later time.

SIRS Issues Researcher Top 10

Top 10 leading issues of the day.

eresources

Access Anoka Hennepin school district's online resources. 

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

x

Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center provides essays on multiple sides of current issues.

Points of View Reference Center
Limit Your Results

SIRS Issues Researcher

SIRS ISSUES Researcher is a research database on leading issues, natural disasters, terriorism, today's news, map of the world, World Almanac.

logo