Skip to main content

JMS_ELA_6_Argumentation: References / Tip Sheet

Easybib

View a JMS video demonstrating Google Docs and add-on EasyBib

(Open a Google Doc, go to Add-Ons, select EasyBib.  Once you have added EasyBib it will be available anytime you open a new document just click on Add-Ons.)

Easybib is an online tool to assist with creating a bibliography (list of sources looked at, used, referenced, consulted, cited). 

NOTE:  The free version of Easybib linked below does not include the APA format. But APA format is available in the add-on tool in Google Docs--see video above.

eResource Tip Sheet

Take a look at this PDF file if you get stuck or need a refresh on the tools available on the Information Gathering Tab.  The video will also go through these eight tools.

References / Bibliography / Works Cited Set Up

Creating a citiation for a source can be confusing (What information is needed? What order does the information go in?  What punctuation is needed and where?).  One type of source that many students access is database information (newspaper articles, magazine articles, journal articles, encyclopedia articles). One very nice feature of these databases is that most of them provide the citation at the end of the article.  Copy the citation and paste it into your Refernces/Bibliography/Works Cited list.  This short cut only works for database source materials.  Books, web pages, interviews, tweets, music, pictures, etc will need to go through an online citation tool (Bibme, EasyBib).

 

JMS movie on citations using Google Docs and add-on EasyBib

Bibme

Bibme is an online tool to assist with creating a bibliography/references page/works cited page (list of sources used for a project).  Bibme has templates for the formating styles (APA and MLA).  Bibme is free to use(Note: There are advertisements on the page).  Users can create a free account to store their bibliographies in. Click the graphic to launch.