Skip to main content
site header image

CPHS_IB Math - Research Project: Databases

Standards Met: 11.14.7.7, 11.14.8.8, 11.14.9.9

What Is a Database?

 

DATABASES can be accessed through the Lock and Key > eResources app. 

How to search DATABASES:

1. Click on the DATABASE that you would like to explore; we strongly recommend the "In Context" resources!

** When using DATABASES from home, you will be asked for a username and password. Passwords are found on the green EResources card available at the LMC desk.

2. Type in your search term; it usually helps to start with a broad term and narrow from there. If available, click the Full Text button. 

3. Note that DATABASES include various types of PRIMARY and SECONDARY resources including: academic journals, newspapers, photographs, radio transcripts, video clips, reference books, etc. 

4. Read the title and description of the displayed resources. When you find a resource that you think might be useful to you, click on the title to get the full text. 

Besides containing credible resources, DATABASES also offer the advantage of providing you with a source citation for the resource. These can generally be found at the end of the article or by clicking a "source citation" button. Be sure to copy and paste all of your source citations into a works cited page as you go.

Gale Science in Context

High school and univeristy. Authoritative information covering popular subjects - earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biorgraphy. Topic overviews. Aritcles from Science Weekly, Science News, Science Theater, images, videos, experiments from Experiment Central, dictionaries. 

Science Reference Center

Research science database, encyclopedias, books, periodicals covering biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Science Reference Center
Limit Your Results

Gale Power Search

Full text magazines, newspaper articles, and ebooks

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results

MasterFILE Premier

Research databases
Limit Your Results