Skip to main content
site header image

BHS_LMC HOME PAGE: Database Access

Anoka Hennepin eResources

Anoka Hennepin offers many databases (encyclopedia, magazines, newspapers).  Some are general collections (student Resources in Context) and others are topic specific (Consumer Health). The District pays access subscriptions for some and the others are provided through ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota).  If using in school no login or password is required.  Remote access requires a login and password.  The LMC has business cards with the login and password.

Anoka County Library Databases

Anoka County Library offers a nice selection of databases.  A few of the titles are the same as in ELM, Anoka Hennepin, and Hennepin County Library. An Anoka County Library card barcode is needed for access. Click the link below to access the databases.

Gale Power Search

Full text magazines, newspaper articles, and ebooks

x

EBSCO High School Databases

Full-text magazine and reference book articles covering a wide-range of subjects including history, science, careers, biographies. Primary source documents. Includes Columbia Encyclopedia and CIA World Fact Book.  Image collection containing photos, maps and flags, and expanded full-text backflies (back to 1975) for key magazines. 

High School Databases
Limit Your Results

Gale U.S. History in Context

Primary sources on the most-studied events and issues. Full-text periodcals and reference works.primary documents, and scholarly analysis. Video and audio from NBC, NPR. Viewppoint essays. Image gallery including seals, maps, and flags. 

x

SIRS Issues Researcher Top 10

Top 10 leading issues of the day.

Gale Health and Wellness Resource Center

Access to medical, statistical, health and related information, latest news.

x

Gale Science in Context

High school and univeristy. Authoritative information covering popular subjects - earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biorgraphy. Topic overviews. Aritcles from Science Weekly, Science News, Science Theater, images, videos, experiments from Experiment Central, dictionaries. 

x

SIRS Issues Researcher

Research database on leading issues, natural disasters, terriorism, today's news, map of the world, World Almanac.

logo

Electronic Library For Minnesota (ELM) databases

The state of Minnesota provides many databases free of charge to all Minnesota residents.  No passwords are needed but users need to be within Minnesota's borders.  There is a wide range of material available from encyclopedias, newspapers, magazine/journal articles, and MN specific.  Click the link below and start researching.

Hennepin County Databases

Hennepin County Library provides access to an incredible selection of databases.  A few of the titles are the same as ELM, Anoka Hennepin, and Anoka County but many are unique and purchased by the county. A Hennepin County Library Card is needed to access.  After selecting a database you will be asked to enter your Hennepin County Library barcode number. Click the link below to access the databases.

Gale Discovering Collection

Middle school and high school. Covers history,literature, science, and social studies. Primary documents, plays, poems, multimedia including video and audio clips, flags, maps, seals, photography, topic overview, biographies, plot summaries, literary criticism, study guide questions. 

x

Gale Professional Collection

For professional educators, highly specialized, educational journals, educational reports.

x

Consumer Health Complete

Evidence-based consumer health and wellness info.

Consumer Health Complete
Limit Your Results

Student Research Center

Designed for students grades 6-12. Magazine and newspaper articles, reference books, facts for class projects. 

Student Research Center
Limit Your Results

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results

CQ Researcher

Comprehensive news reporting and analysis, in-depth unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Social issues, articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazines, newspaper articles.

x

Gale Student Resources in Context

Reference articles from American Decades. Periodical, newspaper articles form New York Tines, USA Today, etc. Primary sources. Multimedia records including charts, graphs, maps, and video.  Video and audio from NBC, NPR, and others. 

x

Points of View Reference Center

Essays on multiple sides of current issues.

Points of View Reference Center
Limit Your Results