Skip to main content
site header image

CPHS_IB Music - Musical Cultures Project: 3. Locate and Access Information - Hennepin County Lib.

Standards Met: 11.14.7.7, 11.14.8.8, 11.14.9.9

Hennepin County Libraries

Don't forget that as a citizen of Hennepun County, you have access to the many free resources found at HENNEPIN COUNTY LIBRARIES, as long as you have a Hennepin County library card. Click here to sign up online for a free Hennepin County library card:

Click here to go to the Hennepin County website:

                                                  

                                                      

Freegal Music

Download music from 28,000 labels including the labels of Sony Music Entertainment. Available as a mobile app for iOS and Android. Get it from the iTunes Store or Google Play Store. Click below to go to the Music Online:Classical Scores Library at Hennepin County. Then type in your library card number.

JStor Database

One resource that might be especially useful to you is the JSTOR DATABASE. Here you can get free access to scholarly articles that you might otherwise have to pay for. Note that in order to use this DATABASE you will need a password, which is your library card barcode number. Click below to go to JSTOR at Hennepin County. Then type in your library card number.


Music Index

Indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. Includes book reviews, obituaries, and news. Some full-text available in PDF. Click below to go to the Oxford Index at Hennepin County. Then type in your library card number.

Music Online: American Song

American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.

Content from African American Music is now a part of American Song, including 17,000 tracks from the original interface, plus 18,000newly released tracks. Click below to go to the Hennepin County Libraries database listing. Scroll down to get to the Music Online: American Song at Hennepin County. Then type in your library card number.

Music Online: Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. This ever growing collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Click below to go to the Music Online:Classical Music Library at Hennepin County. Then type in your library card number.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library

Classical Scores Library contains hundreds of thousands of pages of the most important classical music scores. Click below to go to the Music Online:Classical Scores Library at Hennepin County. Then type in your library card number.

Music Online: Contemporary World Music

Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. Click below to go to the Music Online:Classical Scores Library at Hennepin County. Then type in your library card number.

Oxford Music Online

Biographies of composers, performers, conductors. Includes rock, pop, and jazz artists through history. Covers instruments, notation, forms, styles, individual works, timelines, dictionary. Click below to go to the Hennepin County Libraries database listing. Scroll down to get to the Oxford Music Online at Hennepin County. Then type in your library card number.