Skip to main content
site header image

CPHS_Reading - Annotated Bibliography: 3. Locate and Access Information - Databases

Standards Met: 11.7.7.7, 11.7.8.8, 11.7.9.9

Gale Health and Wellness Resource Center

Access to medical, statistical, health and related information, latest news. (For instance, if you read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, in which the main character - Hazel Grace - has thyroid cancer, and decided your THEME was THYROID CANCER, this database would give you lots of fact sheets, magazine articles, journal articles, newspaper articles, videos, etc. on that topic.)

x

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Social issues, articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazines, newspaper articles. (For instance, if your THEME was an issue like SCHOOL SHOOTINGS if you read Hate List or TEEN PREGNANCY if you read After by Amy Effaw of TEEN SUICIDE if you read Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, this database would provide you with opinion pieces, pictures, reference materials, newspaper articles, audio clips, pictures, etc. related to these topics.)

x

Anoka-Hennepin eResources

The Anoka-Hennepin School District provides many additional DATABASE resources for our students and staff. For a listing of, a description of, and links to these resources, click here:

eResources

Remember that CITATIONS for database materials are generally found at the end of the article, or there will be a "citation" button that you can click to get this information.

Gale Science in Context

High school and univeristy. Authoritative information covering popular subjects - earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biorgraphy. Topic overviews. Aritcles from Science Weekly, Science News, Science Theater, images, videos, experiments from Experiment Central, dictionaries. (For instance, if you read No Safety in Numbers by Dayna Lorentz and your THEME was BIOLOGICAL WEAPONS, you could find refernces articles, images, academic articles, images, magaizne articles, and video and audio clips on the subject here.)

x

Gale U.S. History in Context

Primary sources on the most-studied events and issues. Full-text periodcals and reference works.primary documents, and scholarly analysis. Video and audio from NBC, NPR. Viewpoint essays. Image gallery including seals, maps, and flags. (For instance, if you read Tamar by Mal Peet, and your THEME was the DUTCH RESISTANCE AND TEENAGE SPIES DURING WORLD WAR II), you could look here to find reference articles, pictures, newspaper articles, video and audio clips, academinc journal articles, etc. on this topic.) 

x