Skip to main content

CRHS_Civics 9 Public Policy Research_Team: 3. Location and Access - Databases

Find Information

STEP 3:  LOCATION AND ACCESS

Ask, "Where is each source?  Where is the information in each source?"

  • Access appropriate information systems
  • Search for sources for information about your topic
  • Determine if each source is usable

 

Using the databases from home?

Passwords are needed off campus!

CQ Researcher database ONLY:

username:  anokaschools

password:  remote

ALL OTHER databases:

username:  anoka

password:  anokaremote

CQ Researcher

Type topic into search box--note that these are full reports on each issue--some of the reports are outdated--if so, they might provide good background information but will need to be supplemented with current facts.  Click on article title--note that the article citation is at the bottom of the article--click on "see alternative citation style" and then "MLA" to get the MLA style source citation.

EBSCO MAS Ultra - School Edition

Full-text magazine and reference book articles covering a wide-range of subjects including history, science, careers, biographies. Primary source documents. Includes Columbia Encyclopedia and CIA World Fact Book.  Image collection containing photos, maps and flags, and expanded full-text backflies (back to 1975) for key magazines. 

EBSCO MAS Ultra - School Edition
Limit Your Results

Having trouble logging in? Go to elibrarymn.org and use the links to this specific database. No username/password required.

Opposing View Points

Type topic into the search box, click on "viewpoints," note articles under "featured viewpoints" and "viewpoints"; click on article title--not that you can cite the article by clicking on "citation" on the right hand side or by scrolling down to the end of the article.

SIRS Issues Researcher

Type your topic into the search box, click on "viewpoints," then click on the article title.  Not that you can cite the article by clicking on "citation" at the right hand side or by scrolling down to the end of the article.

Points of View Reference Center

Type your topic into the search box, click on "points of view," click on "HTML Full Text" - note the point/counterpoint articles to the right, as well as the graphs, photos, etc. that are provided on the right side.