Skip to main content

CRHS_AVID 12 Leader Research_Ross: 3. Location and Access - Databases

Find Information

STEP 3:  LOCATION AND ACCESS

Ask, "Where is each source?  Where is the information in each source?"

  • Access appropriate information systems
  • Search for sources for information about your topic
  • Determine if each source is usable

 

World Book Student

Online encyclopedia. Articles and research tools for students in middle school. Back in time articles and special reports are included.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote )

CultureGrams World Edition

History and culture of countries, states and territories, in-depth reports, glossary, maps, stats, and recipes.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote )

Europe Asia Oceania North America None Africa Africa None South America

EBSCO High School Databases

Full-text magazine and reference book articles covering a wide-range of subjects including history, science, careers, biographies. Primary source documents. Includes Columbia Encyclopedia and CIA World Fact Book.  Image collection containing photos, maps and flags, and expanded full-text backflies (back to 1975) for key magazines.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote )

High School Databases
Limit Your Results

Gale Student Resources in Context

Reference articles from American Decades. Periodical, newspaper articles form New York Tines, USA Today, etc. Primary sources. Multimedia records including charts, graphs, maps, and video.  Video and audio from NBC, NPR, and others. Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote  )

x

World History in Context

Type topic keyword(s) into the search box; click on article title--note that you can cite the article by clicking on "citation" on the right hand side or by scrolling down to the end of the article.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote  )

U.S. History in Context

Type topic keyword(s) into the search box; click on article title--note that you can cite the article by clicking on "citation" on the right hand side or by scrolling down to the end of the article.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote  )

CQ Researcher

Type topic into search box--note that these are full reports on each issue--some of the reports are outdated--if so, they might provide good background information but will need to be supplemented with current facts.  Click on article title--note that the article citation is at the bottom of the article--click on "see alternative citation style" and then "MLA" to get the MLA style source citation.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anokaschools   ;  Password:  remote  )

SIRS Issues Researcher

Type your topic into the search box, click on "viewpoints," then click on the article title.  Not that you can cite the article by clicking on "citation" at the right hand side or by scrolling down to the end of the article.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote  )

Anoka-Hennepin eResources

The Anoka-Hennepin School District provides many additional DATABASE resources for our students and staff. For a listing of, a description of, and links to these resources, click here:

eResources

Remember that CITATIONS for database materials are generally found at the end of the article, or there will be a "citation" button that you can click to get this information.