Skip to main content
site header image

CPHS_Creative Writing - Ramsey House - Historical Fiction Assignment: Databases

Terms

Databases can be tricky because they rarely offer a "did you mean?" option. You have to use the right terms, and if nothing comes up, try something else!

Search: "Alexander Ramsey," "the Dakota War," Minnesota Territory, etc. 

Friendly reminder: Most DATABASES provide a SOURCE CITATION for you. Find the CITATION button and choose APA style. Copy and paste the citation into your WORKS CITED page.

Gale World History in Context

Full-text periodicals, reference works, and primary documents. Includes Macmillian Reference USA, Journal of World History, History Review, the Historian, maps, atalses, video and audio from archival NPR. Can search US History in Context within the database. 

Proquest

Global Newsstream (1980 - current). Enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires. blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

Gale U.S. History in Context

Primary sources on the most-studied events and issues. Full-text periodcals and reference works.primary documents, and scholarly analysis. Video and audio from NBC, NPR. Viewppoint essays. Image gallery including seals, maps, and flags. 

EBSCO Academic Search Premier

EBSCO Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results

Having trouble logging in? Go to elibrarymn.org and use the links to this specific database. No username/password required.