Skip to main content
site header image

CPHS_Citations: MLA Source Citation Guide

MLA and APA

Print Resources

1. Book (One Author)

Author’s last name, First name. Book Title. Place of publication: Publisher, Copyright date. Print.

 Collins, Suzanne. Hunger Games. New York: Scholastic Press, 2008. Print.

2. Book (No Author)

 Book Title. Place of publication: Publisher, Copyright date. Print. 

 Diary of a Junior Year: Volume 6. New York: Scholastic, 2000. Print.

 3. Book (2-3 Authors)

 First author’s last name, First name, First and Last name of second author. Book Title. Place of publication: Publisher, Copyright date. Print.

 McKinley, Robin and Peter Dickinson. Fire: Tales of Elemental Spirits. New York: Penguin Group USA, 2009. Print.

4. Book (More Than 3 Authors) 

 First author’s last name, First name, et. al. Book Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Copyright date. Print.

Mahoney, Karen, et. al. The Eternal Kiss: 12 Tales of Blood and Desire. Philadelphia:Running Press Kids, 2009. Print.

 5. Anthology or Compilations          

  Editor’s (or translator’s) last name, First name, ed. (or trans.) Anthology Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Copyright date. Print.

 Pinsky, Robert, ed. Essential Pleasures: A New Anthology of Poems to Read Aloud. New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 2009. Print.

 6. An Individual Work in an Anthology or Compilation 

Last name of author of story being cited, First name. “Title of Story.” Title of Anthology. Ed. Editor’s First and Last name. Place of publication: Publisher,   Copyright date. Page numbers. Print.

Stone, Monica. “Pearl Harbor Echoes in Seattle.” American Mosaic: Multicultural Readings in Context. Ed. Barbara Roche Rico and Sandra Mano. Boston:  Houghton Mifflin Company, 1991. 335-46. Print.

 7. Encyclopedia or Reference Book Article

Author’s last name, First name. “Entry Title.” Name of Encyclopedia or Reference Book. Copyright date. Print.

 Peters, Charles M. “Rain Forests.” World Book Encyclopedia. 1999. Print.

8. Magazine Article 

Author’s last name, First name. “Article Title.”  Name of  Magazine  Date of magazine: page number(s) used. Print.

Rozell, Ned. “Waves of Death.” Alaska 1 August 2005: 24. Print.

9. Newspaper Article  

Author’s last name, First name. “Article Title.” Name of Newspaper Date of newspaper: Section and page number. Print.

Parrish, Kathleen, AnnWlazelek, and Dan Sheehan. “Beating the Heat (Stroke): Eagles Players Gulp High-Tech Pill That Sends Alert When They Get   Overheated.” Allentown Morning Call 8 June 2005: A1. Print. 

**Please note that if an encyclopedia/reference book, magazine, or newspaper article does not indicate an author, skip the author’s name and begin the citation with the name of the article. 

Other Resources

15. Personal Interview

Interviewee’s last name, First name. Personal interview. Date of interview.

Mhiripiri, Rhoda. Personal interview. 7 September 2009.

16. Film, Video, DVD Recording

Title of Film, Video, or DVD. Dir. Name of director. Distributor, Year of Release. Medium.

Twilight. Dir. Catherine Hardwicke. Summit Entertainment, 2009. DVD.

**Please note that you may wish to include other information that you feel is important between the title and the medium such as names of key performers, the writer(s), and/or the producer.

Twilight. Dir. Catherine Hardwicke. Perf. Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart. Screenplay Melissa Rosenberg. Book Stephenie Meyer. Summit

            Entertainment, 2009. DVD.

 17. Television or Radio Program

“Title of Segment.” Name of Program. Producer. TV Station, Place of publication. Date. Medium.

“Grinnan Family.” Extreme Makeover: Home Edition. Prod. Tom Forman. ABC. 28 August 2005.Television. 

MLA Example Paper

Online Resources

10. Encyclopedia (online) Article

Author’s Last name, First name. “Entry Title.” Name of Online Encyclopedia. Version. Access date. <URL>.

Spaulding, J. L.“The Sudan." Encyclopedia BritannicaOnline. 2009. 7 September  2009. <http://search.eb.com/eb/article-9105996>.

 11. Online Databases/Subscription Services Article (ie; Electric Library, Galenet, EBSCO)

Author’s last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Magazine, Journal, or Newspaper Title Volume (Date): Number of pages.  Source. Web. Article number if

            available. Access date. <URL>.

Tumulty, Karen. "'This Has Been the Most Difficult Test for Me.'" Time. 10 August 2009. eLibrary. Web. 07 September 2009.          <http://elibrary.bigchalk.com/curriculum>.

12. Internet Websites

Author’s, Editor’s, or Compiler’s last name, First name. “Title of the Article, Poem, Song, Etc.” Title of the Scholarly Project, Database, Periodical, or     Professional Website. Date of the latest update. Web. Access date. <URL>.

“The Story Behind Twilight.”  The Official Web Site of Stephenie Meyer. 01 September 2009. Web. 07 September 2009.

         <http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/twilight.html>.

 13. Personal Website

Author’s last name, First name. Homepage. Date of document (may be last update). Web. Access Date.  <URL>.

Lancashire, Ian. Homepage. 23 January 2005. Web. 07 September 2009.  <http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/~ian/> .

 14. Online Pictures and Images

Photographer’s last name, First name. Name of Photo. Date of photo. Web. Access Date. <URL>.

Leibovitz, Annie. Nicole Kidman. 2003. Web. 07 September 2009.

            <http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/art/features/

           over-exposed-is-annie-leibovitz-worthy-of-a-retrospective-at-the

           -national-portrait-gallery-849918.html>.

 

**Please note that not all of the elements of the source citation may not be available within all online resources. If this is the case, skip the missing element and go on to the next element.