Skip to main content
site header image

CPHS_English 12 - Annotated Bib: Assignment Overview

Wilson, Larson, Rieck

Mrs. Larson's Assignment

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents about a particular topic. Each citation is followed by 1-2 brief descriptive and evaluative paragraphs, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

 

Directions:

1.      Choose a question to answer for this research assignment.

Should parents vaccinate their children?

Is online learning as good as face-to-face learning?

Should the school day start later than 7:40 AM for high school students?

Should soda machines and candy sales be removed from high schools?

Should all GMOs be labeled on food items in the United States?

Should the minimum wage be higher? If so, how much?

What immediate action by the government and citizens of the world should be taken to decrease global warming?

Job applicant screening:  Is social media fair game?

Should all universities be required to have all-inclusive gender bathrooms for trans students?

2.       Choose which side of the argument you’ve chosen above to focus on (i.e. the pro or con side.)

 

3.       Do research and find 3 articles/sources online to create an annotated bibliography from. Some ideas are, depending on your particular topic, as follows:

  • A government public website

  • Academic journals

  • Utilizing eResources—Databases—Journal articles

  • Expert critiques/reports

  • Historical sources

  • Some sites ending in .gov, .net, .edu, or .org

 

Ms. Rieck's Assignment

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents about a particular topic. Each citation is followed by 1-2 brief descriptive and evaluative paragraphs, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Directions:

1.       Choose a question to do research on for this assignment.

Should parents vaccinate their children?

Should marijuana be legalized in all of the United States of America?

Should all GMOs be labeled on food items in the United States?

Should the minimum wage be higher? If so, how much?

What immediate action by the government and citizens of the world should be taken to decrease global warming?

Should all universities be required to have all-inclusive gender bathrooms for trans students?

2.       Choose which side of the argument you’ve chosen above to focus on (i.e. the pro or con side.)

 

3.       Do research and find 3 articles/sources online to create an annotated bibliography from. Some ideas are, depending on your particular topic, as follows:

  • A government public website

  • Academic journals

  • Utilizing eResources—Databases—Journal articles

  • Expert critiques/reports

  • Historical sources

  • Some sites ending in .gov, .net, .edu, or .org

Directions for writing the annotated bibliography:  For each article, include the following parts.  Alphabetize the list.

1.       Citation in APA Style

2.       Descriptive paragraph:  Summarize:

·         What is the purpose of this article?

·         What are the author’s main points?  

·         Describe the evidence the author uses to inform you/ persuade you of his/her/their main points.

3.       Evaluative paragraph:  Evaluate:

· Who is the author?  Evaluate the authority or background of the author.  In what ways are he/she/they credible/not credible?  What is their perspective/bias on this issue?

·   When was this written?  Where?

·   What information is missing from this article?

·   Ultimately, do you think this is a reliable source?  Why?

Helpful website: http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/AnnotatedBibliography.html

 

Format Rules:

·         The text and the reference list should be double-spaced.

·         Numbering starts on the title page, at the top right of the page.

·         Reference list entries must have a hanging indent

·         There should be 1 inch margins all around (top, bottom, left, and right) on each page.

·         Use size 12 font.

·         Each paragraph should be indented.

·         Title & Identifying Information

o   Left side

o   All names (first & last)

o   English 12

o   Period ____

o   Date

 

APA style examples:

Hinson, H. (1999). 'A River Runs Through It' Washington Post. Retrieved May 5, 2016, from

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/style/longterm/movies/videos/ariverrunsthroughitpghinson_a0a7bc.htm