Skip to main content
site header image

CPHS_English 12 - Annotated Bib: Writing an Annotated Bibliography

Wilson, Larson, Rieck

Directions

Directions for writing the annotated bibliography:  For each article, include the following parts.  Alphabetize the list.

1.       Citation in APA Style

2.       Descriptive paragraph:  Summarize:

  • What is the purpose of this article?

  • What are the author’s main points?  

  • Describe the evidence the author uses to inform you/ persuade you of his/her/their main points.

3.       Evaluative paragraph:  Evaluate:

  • Who is the author?  Evaluate the authority or background of the author.  In what ways are he/she/they credible/not credible?  What is their perspective/bias on this issue?

  • When was this written?  Where?

  • What information is missing from this article?

  • Ultimately, do you think this is a reliable source?  Why?

Helpful website: http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/AnnotatedBibliography.html

 

Format Rules:

  • The text and the reference list should be double-spaced.

  • Numbering starts on the title page, at the top right of the page.

  • There should be 1 inch margins all around (top, bottom, left, and right) on each page.

  • Use size 12 font.

  • Each paragraph should be indented.

  • Title & Identifying Information



Name

English 12

Annotated Bibliography

Spring 2016

 

Thesis:  (This is the answer to the question you have selected.)

 

Hinson, H. (1999). 'A River Runs Through It' Washington Post. Retrieved May 5, 2016, from

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/style/longterm/movies/videos/ariverrunsthroughitpghinson_a0a7bc.ht

 

Battle, K. (2007). Child poverty: The evolution and impact of child benefits. In Covell, K., & Howe, R. B. (Eds), A question of commitment: Children's rights in Canada (pp. 21-44). Waterloo, ON: Wilfrid Laurier University Press.

            Ken Battle draws on his research as an extensively-published policy analyst, and a close study of some government documents, to explain child benefits in Canada.  He outlines some fundamental assumptions supporting the belief that all society members should contribute to the upbringing of children.  His comparison of Canadian child poverty rates to those in other countries provides a useful wake-up to anyone assuming Canadian society is doing a good job of protecting children from want.  He pays particular attention to the National Child Benefit (NCB), arguing that it did not deserve the criticism it received from politicians and journalists.  He outlines the NCB’s development, costs, and benefits, including its dollar contribution to a typical recipient’s income.  He laments that the Conservative government scaled back the program in favour of the Universal Child Care Benefit (UCCB), and clearly explains why it is inferior.

Battle relies too heavily on his own work; he is the sole or primary author of almost half the sources in his bibliography.  He could make this work stronger by drawing from the perspectives of others' analyses.  However, Battle does offer a valuable source for this essay, because the chapter provides a concise overview of government-funded assistance currently available to parents. This offers context for analyzing the scope and financial reality of child poverty in Canada.

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

Example #1 of Annotated Bibliography

Works Cited

Breeding evil. (2005, August 6). Economist, 376(8438), 9. Retrieved from http://www.economist.com

This editorial from the Economist describes the controversy surrounding video games and the effect they have on people who use them. The author points out that skepticism of new media has gone back to the time of the ancient Greeks, so this controversy surrounding video games is nothing new. The article also points out that most critics of gaming are people over 40, and it is an issue of generations not understanding one another, rather than of the games themselves. As the youth of today grows older, the controversy will die out, according to the author. The author of this article stresses the age factor over violence as the real reason for opposition to video games and stresses the good gaming has done in most areas of human life. This article is distinctive in exploring the controversy surrounding video games from a generational standpoint and is written for a general audience.

Waite, L. J., Goldschneider, F. K., & Witsberger, C. (1986). Nonfamily is living and the erosion of traditional family orientations among young adults. American       Sociological Review, 51 (4), 541-554.

The authors, researchers at the Rand Corporation and Brown University, use data from the National Longitudinal Surveys of Young Women and Young Men to test their hypothesis that nonfamily living by young adults alters their attitudes, values, plans, and expectations, moving them away from their belief in traditional sex roles. They find their hypothesis strongly supported in young females while the effects were fewer in studies of young males. Increasing the time away from parents before marrying increased individualism, self-sufficiency, and changes in attitudes about families. In contrast, an earlier study by Williams cited below shows no significant gender differences in sex role attitudes as a result of nonfamily living.

 

Example #2 of Annotated Bibliography