Skip to main content
site header image

CPHS_English 9 - Argumentative Essay: Databases

What is a DATABASE and Why You Need Them

More about DATABASES

DATABASES are collections of digital resources centered around a broad subject, such as science or health or history. DATABASES are put together by educated individuals (editorial boards) who gather resources from credible sources. 

DATABASES are provided to assist you when completing research and can be accessed at www.anoka.k12.mn.us/eresources

How to search DATABASES:

1. Click on the DATABASE that you would like to explore. When using DATABASES from home, you will be asked for a username and password.   Passwords are found on the green EResources card available at the LMC desk.

2. Type in your search term. Try several search terms if the one you use doesn't yield good results.

3. Note that DATABASES include various types of PRIMARY and SECONDARY resources including: academic journals, newspapers, photographs, radio transcripts, video clips, reference books, etc. 

4. Read the title and description of the displayed resources. When you find a resource that you think might be useful to you, click on the title to get the full text. 

Besides containing credible resources, DATABASES also offer the advantage of providing you with a source citation for the resource. These can generally be found at the end of the article or by clicking a "source citation" button. Be sure to copy and paste all of your source citations into a works cited page as you go.

Note also that many DATABASES have a "listen" button that you can click on to have the resource read aloud to you. (Please check out headphones at the desk if you choose this option while using the databases in the LMC.)

There is also generally an e-mail button that allows you to e-mail a resource home to yourself if you think you might not be able to finish reading it during class time and want to have access to it at a later time.

APA Citation for Database Materials

This graph (a PRIMARY RESOURCE) about public opinion regarding the legalization of marijuana was found in the Opposing Viewpoints Database.

APA citation for material from a DATABASE should follow the template and example below:

Name of the researching organization. (year). In brackets, provide a brief explanation of what type of data is there and in what form it appears. Place of Publication: Publisher. Retrieval information

Public opinion on legalizing marijuana use, selected years 1969-2010. (2011). In S. M. Alters, Information Plus Reference Series. Alcohol, Tobacco, and Illicit Drugs (2011 ed.). Detroit: Gale. Retrieved from http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic/StatisticsDetailsPage/StatisticsDetailsWindow?prodId=OVIC&windowstate=normal&mode=view&displayGroupName=Statistics&limiter=&displayGroups=&p=OVIC&action=e&catId=&view=statisticsDocDisplay&documentId=GALE%7CEJ2220006423&source=Bookmark&u=mnkanokahs&jsid=195a70e9056bc6b36f53593b43b8ea87

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Social issues, articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazines, newspaper articles.

SIRS Issues Researcher

SIRS ISSUES Researcher is a research database on leading issues, natural disasters, terriorism, today's news, map of the world, World Almanac.

logo

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results

EBSCO Points of View Reference Center

Essays on multiple sides of current issues.