When you use information from other sources in your project, you need to give proper credit to those sources. BHS students are asked to use MLA style documentation.
You have two basic responsibilities:
1. In-text citations
Give the author (if there is one) or title (if no author is given) of the source in parentheses right after the information that comes from that source.
2. Works Cited page
List all the sources you used in your project. Typically this appears at the end of your paper. Name the page "Works Cited". Entries must follow MLA style (use a citation engine like BIBME or CITATION MACHINE to format the entries), and the entire list should be in alphabetical order.
A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.
Your annotations may do one or more of the following.
The bibliographic information: The bibliographic information of the source (the title, author, publisher, date, etc.) will be written in MLA format.
The annotations: The annotations for each source are written in paragraph form. The lengths of the annotations can vary significantly from a couple of sentences to a couple of pages. The length will depend on the purpose. If you're just writing summaries of your sources, the annotations may not be very long (2-3 sentences).
15. Personal Interview
Interviewee’s last name, First name. Personal interview. Date of interview.
Mhiripiri, Rhoda. Personal interview. 7 September 2009.
16. Film, Video, DVD Recording
Title of Film, Video, or DVD. Dir. Name of director. Distributor, Year of Release. Medium.
Twilight. Dir. Catherine Hardwicke. Summit Entertainment, 2009. DVD.
**Please note that you may wish to include other information that you feel is important between the title and the medium such as names of key performers, the writer(s), and/or the producer.
Twilight. Dir. Catherine Hardwicke. Perf. Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart. Screenplay Melissa Rosenberg. Book Stephenie Meyer. Summit
Entertainment, 2009. DVD.
17. Television or Radio Program
“Title of Segment.” Name of Program. Producer. TV Station, Place of publication. Date. Medium.
“Grinnan Family.” Extreme Makeover: Home Edition. Prod. Tom Forman. ABC. 28 August 2005.Television.
Individual Bibliography & Source Citation
EACH PERSON MUST TURN IN A BIBLIOGRAPHY OR "WORKS CITED" PAGE!
Avoid plagiarizing! Plagiarism is defined by the Encarta World English Dictionary as “something copied from somebody else’s work, or somebody else’s idea that somebody presents as his or her own”.
A bibliography is a list of all the sources you used to find your information
· Purpose of author or creator in writing or composing the work
· How was the source valuable to you as researcher? How does the origin of the source (author/creator and his/her background, date, type of source) add to its value for you as the researcher?
· How is the source limited to you as the researcher? How does the origin of the source limit its credibility? (think about the origin here again (author/creator and his/her background, date, type of source). You may need to “google” the author or creator.
Class textbook—we will do this together in class:
How to Cite Sources [Citations]
*Use MLA on easybib.com
Author’s last name, first name, Title (Place of press company:
Name of press company, year), page #. Print
Author of article, “title of article/picture”,
name of web site, date, web address (e.g. http). Web
Author, “Title of article,” Title of database (e.g. Electronic Library, Decades…)
Artist, Title, year
Title & year
Name of person, interviewed by (name interviewer), date of interview
Author, “Title of Article,” name of newspaper or magazine, page #/section, date