Skip to main content

CRHS_English 10 Oppression Research_Team: 3. Databases

Find Information

STEP 3:  LOCATION AND ACCESS

Ask, "Where is each source?  Where is the information in each source?"

  • Access appropriate information systems
  • Search for sources for information about your topic
  • Determine if each source is usable

 

Need MORE Database Options?

The Anoka-Hennepin School District provides many additional DATABASE resources for our students and staff. For a listing of, a description of, and links to these resources, click here:

eResources

Remember that CITATIONS for database materials are generally found at the end of the article, or there will be a "citation" button that you can click to get this information.

When Are Databases the Best Choice?

For this project, databases will be a good source if you are researching one of the very well-known oppressors or oppressed groups--ones that have been in the news a lot or have been well documented throughout history.  Through a database search, you may find thoughtful analytical articles that talk about the causes and effects of the oppression. 

U.S. History in Context

Type topic keyword(s) into the search box; click on article title--note that you can cite the article by clicking on "citation" on the right hand side or by scrolling down to the end of the article.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote  )

World History in Context

Type topic keyword(s) into the search box; click on article title--note that you can cite the article by clicking on "citation" on the right hand side or by scrolling down to the end of the article.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote  )

Opposing View Points

Type topic into the search box, click on "viewpoints," note articles under "featured viewpoints" and "viewpoints"; click on article title--not that you can cite the article by clicking on "citation" on the right hand side or by scrolling down to the end of the article.

ProQuest

Image result for proquest

Note:  This database is a collection of NEWS ARTICLES from highly-reputable news organizations.  Type topic keyword(s) into the search box; click on article title--note that you can cite the article by clicking on "cite" on the right hand side.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote  )

SIRS Issues Researcher

Type your topic into the search box, click on "viewpoints," then click on the article title.  Not that you can cite the article by clicking on "citation" at the left-hand side or by scrolling down to the end of the article.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka   ;  Password:  anokaremote  )