Skip to main content
site header image

CPHS_English 11B - Essay: Databases

How to Search

Databases are like a fancier Google (but dumber in some ways). Just search for one word (or phrase) and then narrow from there - don't try to ask it a question or put in a ton of words - it will get confused. 

Link to E-Resources

Gale Power Search

Full text magazines, newspaper articles, and ebooks

Gale World History in Context

Full-text periodicals, reference works, and primary documents. Includes Macmillian Reference USA, Journal of World History, History Review, the Historian, maps, atalses, video and audio from archival NPR. Can search US History in Context within the database. 

Gale U.S. History in Context

Primary sources on the most-studied events and issues. Full-text periodcals and reference works.primary documents, and scholarly analysis. Video and audio from NBC, NPR. Viewppoint essays. Image gallery including seals, maps, and flags. 

Proquest

Global Newsstream (1980 - current). Enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires. blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Social issues, articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazines, newspaper articles.

SIRS Issues Researcher

Research database on leading issues, natural disasters, terriorism, today's news, map of the world, World Almanac.

logo