Skip to main content

BHS_English 9B Research: 3. Databases

Find Information

STEP 3:  LOCATION AND ACCESS

Ask, "Where is each source?  Where is the information in each source?"

  • Access appropriate information systems
  • Search for sources for information about your topic
  • Determine if each source is usable

 

When using databases "Off Campus" please use Off-campus log-in! 

Username: anoka  Password: anokaremote  

 

What are databases?

DATABASES are collections of digital resources centered around a broad subject, such as science or health or history. DATABASES are put together by educated individuals (editorial boards) who gather resources from credible sources. Most databases have
scholarly/peer-reviewed filter or contain only scholarly literature. Authority and trustworthiness are virtually guaranteed.

DATABASES are provided to assist you when completing research and can be accessed at www.anoka.k12.mn.us/eresources

How to search DATABASES:

1. Click on the DATABASE that you would like to explore. When using DATABASES from home, you will be asked for a username and password.   Passwords are found on the green EResources card available at the LMC desk.

2. Type in your search term. Try several search terms if the one you use doesn't yield good results.

3. Note that DATABASES include various types of PRIMARY and SECONDARY resources including: academic journals, newspapers, photographs, radio transcripts, video clips, reference books, etc. 

4. Read the title and description of the displayed resources. When you find a resource that you think might be useful to you, click on the title to get the full text. 

Besides containing credible resources, DATABASES also offer the advantage of providing you with a source citation for the resource. These can generally be found at the end of the article or by clicking a "source citation" button. Be sure to copy and paste all of your source citations into a works cited page as you go.

Note also that many DATABASES have a "listen" button that you can click on to have the resource read aloud to you. (Please check out headphones at the desk if you choose this option while using the databases in the LMC.)

There is also generally an e-mail button that allows you to e-mail a resource home to yourself if you think you might not be able to finish reading it during class time and want to have access to it at a later time.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Social issues, articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazines, newspaper articles.

EBSCO Points of View Reference Center

Essays on multiple sides of current issues.

EBSCO Points of View Reference Center
Limit Your Results

SIRS Issues Researcher

Research database on leading issues, natural disasters, terriorism, today's news, map of the world, World Almanac.

logo

Need MORE Database Options?

The Anoka-Hennepin School District provides many additional DATABASE resources for our students and staff. For a listing of, a description of, and links to these resources, click here:

eResources

Remember that CITATIONS for database materials are generally found at the end of the article, or there will be a "citation" button that you can click to get this information.

Gale Student Resources in Context

Reference articles from American Decades. Periodical, newspaper articles form New York Tines, USA Today, etc. Primary sources. Multimedia records including charts, graphs, maps, and video.  Video and audio from NBC, NPR, and others. Off-campus log-in needed!  User:  anoka     Password:  anokaremote  

U.S. History in Context

Type topic keyword(s) into the search box; click on article title--note that you can cite the article by clicking on "citation" on the right hand side or by scrolling down to the end of the article.  Off-campus log-in needed!  (User:  anoka     Password:  anokaremote  )