Skip to main content
site header image

CPHS_English 12 - Annotated Bib - Citizen: 1. Define Topic

Ms. Rieck's Assignment

Persuasion Unit

Annotated Bibliography Assignment 

http://libguides.anoka.k12.mn.us/cphsILAenglish12annotatedbibliography

 

Race, Racism, and Whiteness

 

Directions for Work Day:

1.    In groups of no more than four (4), find 3-5 articles from the sources listed below that will help you answer the research question: 

How does Claudia Rankine use multiple genres to make the point that racism exists in America?

 

2.    Research Parameters – Use “Advanced Search”

       Topic:

      Rankine

      Citizen

      racism

         More Options

               Full Text

               Peer Reviewed Journals

               By publication date:  After January, 2013

               By document type:  Articles

 

3.    Copy and paste articles into a Google Doc; be sure to include the reference information.

4.  Read and highlight the evidence used to persuade you.

·         Find book reviews and articles (News and Magazine) by searching our databases for Rankine, then maybe narrowing by adding Citizen and/or            racism

·         Find book reviews by Googling: Rankine citizen “book reviews”

                   We want to put “book reviews” in quotation marks because Citizen is a book, meaning any reference to it will show up, not just the “book                     reviews.” That means 50,000 more pages for you to sift through.

·         Find articles from university publications by Googling: site:edu Rankine citizen

5.    You may use of these free sites to create the APA citation for the References page.

a.    www.citationmachine.net

b.    http://www.bibme.org/

 

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents about a particular topic. Each citation is followed by 1-2 brief summary and evaluative paragraphs, which is the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Directions for Writing the Annotated Bibliography:  For each article in your group, you will create an annotated bibliography on a shared Google doc.  All members of the group should read all of the articles and help with the writing of the annotated bibliography.  For each article, include the following parts.  Alphabetize the list according to citation.

1.    Citation in APA style (used for social sciences)

NO personal pronouns in paragraphs!

2.    Descriptive paragraph:  Summarize:  (3-5 sentences) 

a.   What is the purpose of this article?

b.   What are the author’s main points?  

c.    Describe the evidence the author uses to inform you/ persuade you of his/her/their main points.

 

3.   Evaluative paragraph:  Evaluate:   (3-5 sentences)

a.   Who is the author?  Evaluate the authority or background of the author.  In what ways are

he/she/they credible/not credible?  What is their perspective/bias on this issue? 

b.   When was this written?  Where? 

c.   What information is missing from this article? 

d.   Ultimately, do you think this is a reliable source?  Why?

 

Helpful website: http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/AnnotatedBibliography.html

4.    Format Rules:

·         The text and the reference list should be double-spaced.

·         Numbering starts on the title page, at the top right of the page.

·         Reference list entries must have a hanging indent

·         There should be 1 inch margins all around (top, bottom, left, and right) on each page.

·         Use Times Roman font in Size 12

·         Each paragraph should be indented

·         CITATION ENTRIES MUST BE ALPHABETIZED!

·         Title & Identifying Information

o   Left side

o   All names (first & last)

o   English 12

o   Period ____

o   Date

 

Due Date:  – Share via Google Docs –

Title of document MUST contain: First & Last NameS & Period

  

 

 

Joe Kamara

English 12

Period 2

February 26, 2016

Child Poverty in Canada

Covell, K., & Howe, R. B. (2007). A question of commitment: Children's rights in Canada. Waterloo, Ont.: Wilfrid

Laurier University Press.

 

            Ken Battle draws on his research as an extensively-published policy analyst, and a close study of some government documents, to explain child benefits in Canada.  He outlines some fundamental assumptions supporting the belief that all society members should contribute to the upbringing of children.  His comparison of Canadian child poverty rates to those in other countries provides a useful wake-up to anyone assuming Canadian society is doing a good job of protecting children from want.  He pays particular attention to the National Child Benefit (NCB), arguing that it did not deserve the criticism it received from politicians and journalists.  He outlines the NCB’s development, costs, and benefits, including its dollar contribution to a typical recipient’s income.  He laments that the Conservative government scaled back the program in favour of the Universal Child Care Benefit (UCCB), and clearly explains why it is inferior.  However, Battle relies too heavily on his own work; he is the sole or primary author of almost half the sources in his bibliography.  He could make this work stronger by drawing from the perspectives of others' analyses.  However, Battle does offer a valuable source for this essay, because the chapter provides a concise overview of government-funded assistance currently available to parents. This offers context for analyzing the scope and financial reality of child poverty in Canada.

Kerr, D., & Beaujot, R. (2003). Child poverty and family structure in Canada, 1981-1997. Journal of Comparative Family Studies, 34(3), 321-335. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/41603886

            Sociology professors Kerr and Beaujot analyze the demographics of impoverished families.  Drawing on data from Canada’s annual Survey of Consumer Finances, the authors consider whether each family had one or two parents, the age of single parents, and the number of children in each household.  They analyze child poverty rates in light of these demographic factors, as well as larger... unfinished