Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your Capstone Research Project is about to begin. There are many places you could go for information: web, newspapers, audio files, interviews, books, magazines, primary sources, and journals to name a few. This guide focuses on databases and specifically Gale databases.
The Gale databases contain: reference material, audio files, academic journals, magazines, images, primary sources, and newspaper articles. Gale has added a Google Docs link that we want you to use with your Capstone Project. Below you will find a short video providing a general overview of how the databases work and the Google Doc connection. The Gale databases will be linked in a separate box.
Video Overview of Gale Databases 9 minutes
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
The llinks below are listed alphabetically. Some databases will provide better results than others. It really depends upon your research question and the focus of the database. Try at least two of the databases below. Please see Mr. Peterson in the LMC if you don't get any results back. Start by choosing either Resources in Context or Student Resources in Context.
Gale Virtual Refence Library
Collection of 25 reference books and encyclopedias covering topics from Art to History to Medicine.
General Science Collection
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Popular elementary school magazines as well as encyclopedias and newspapers written for kids, plus an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Social issues; articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, full-text magazines, newspaper articles.
Research in Context (middle school)
A middle school-appropriate database of reference works, biographies, magazine and journal articles, primary source documents, and multimedia. Includes Discovering Collection, Junior Reference Collection, and InfoTrac Junior Edition databases.
Science in Context
Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers.
Student Resources in Context
Encyclopedia, magazine, and journal articles, plus primary sources, images, video, and more for middle and high school students. Includes Discovering Collection, Junior Reference Collection, InfoTrac Student Edition, and InfoTrac Junior Edition databases.
U.S. History in Context
Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.