Skip to main content

CRHS_General Research Guide_Geiger: How to Find Royalty-Free Pictures and Sound for Your Projects

CC Search

In CC Search you can search for images, videos, and music that are in the COMMON DOMAIN. In other words, the originators of this work have given over the rights to these items and have agreed to let anyone use them. Therefore, for these images, videos, and music pieces y ou need only link to this person's Creative Commons license, and you DO NOT have to cite the image, video, or music piece.

Sound Gator

SoundGator offers free sound recording downloads,organized in 23 categories, such as "Crowd Sound Effects," "Nature Sound Effects, " and "Machine Sounds." You do have to register on SoundGator in order to download recordings. After registering you can download recordings directly to your computer to re-use in your projects.

Royalty Free Sound

Royalty Free Music hosts music tracks that can be reused in numerous ways. Royalty Free Music charges the general public for their downloads, but students and teachers can download quite a bit of the music for free. To access the free music tracks students and teachers should visit the education page on Royalty Free Music

Free Music Archive

The Free Music Archive provides free, high-quality, music in a wide range of genres. The content on Free Music Archive is used under various creative commons licenses. The New York State Music Fund provided initial funding for FMA. FMA seeks to maintain a high-quality resource through the use of selected curators who approve or deny all submissions to the collection. Anyone can download music from FMA for use in podcasts, videos, and other digital presentation formats. The music collections can be searched by genre or by curator.

NYPL Digital Library

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historicalmaps, vintage posters, rare prints,photographs and more.

MusOpen

Musopen's collection of free recordings contains performances of the works of more than 150 composers. You can stream the music from Musopen for free. You can also download five recordings per day for free from Musopen. 

SoundBible

Sound Bible.com resource for finding and downloading free sound clips, sound effects, and sound bites. All of the sounds on Sound Bible are either public domain or labeled with a Creative Commons license. You can find sounds for use in podcasts, videos, slideshows, or other multimedia creations.